14th Annual






Chancellor Joe Gow presents the UW-L Classified Staff 


Chancellor Joe Gow presents the Classified Staff at the 14th Annual Classified Excellence Breakfast held Thursday, September 23rd.







staff eating breakfast before ceremony     awards


Each Fall since 1991, UW-L has celebrated the many contributions of our classified staff with a breakfast in Valhalla Hall.





Speaker, Fred Kusch 


This year those attending the breakfast were treated to a guest speaker, Fred Kusch.




Chancellor Gow addresses the staff   

Classified staff members who reached five-year milestones

were recognized by Chancellor Joe Gow.


This year's recipients are:

5 Year Recipients

5 year recipients 

Front Row:  Sue Gates (Health Center), Diane Clayton (Health Center), Carol Beckerjeck (University Advancement & External Relations)

Middle Row:  John Laffey (Landscape Services), Cary Koel (Facilities & Planning Management), Dianne Hamann (Business Services)

Back Row:  Timothy Wyant (Custodial Services),  Scot Reed (Building Maintenance), Julie Puent-Nelson (Health Center)

Not pictured:  Sarita Chang (Health Center), Cindy Davis (Residence Life), Catherine Fowler (Residence Life), Michelle Kern (Health Center), Calvin Mitchell (Custodial Services), Michael Taylor (Information Technology)




10 Year Recipients

10 year recipients' 

Front Row:  Joy Gutknecht (Human Resources), George Cummings (Custodial Services), Randall Amundson (Campus Stores)

Middle Row:  Krista Shulka (Theatre Arts), Deborah Miller (Admissions), Karen Langaard (Continuing Education & Extension)

Back Row:  Ken Weigel (Building Maintenance), Janice Ward (Information Technology), Scott Sonnenburg (Building Maintenance)

Not pictured:  Dennis Mader (Custodial Services), Steven Malay (Custodial Services), Scott McCullough (Campus Police), Leroy Sandvigen (Custodial Services), Ronald Thomson (Building Maintenance), Marjorie Troka (Student Affairs)


15 Year Recipients

15 year recipients 

Don Hill (Health Center) and Steven Peters (Power Plant) 



20 Year Recipients

20 year recipients 

Front Row:  Nancy Jones (Records & Registrations), Alice Clark (Educational Studies), Margaret Agger (Health Center)

Back Row:  Gail Vaughn (Information Technology), Don Breitzman (Custodial Services), Tom Nyre (Custodial Services), Terry Micks (Financial Aid Office) 

Not pictured:  Pam Glasshoff (International Education)


25 Year Recipients

25 year recipients 

Front Row:  Al Patton (Custodial Services), Judy Molzahn (Purchasing), Janet Abnet (Economics)

Back Row:  Don Venner (Residence Life), Bill Spencer (Information Technology), Pat Ring (University Centers) 

Not pictured:  Lavonia McCarty (Murphy Library) and Larry Menden (Power Plant)


Our 30, 35 & 40 Year Recipients

30 35 40 year recipients

Seated:  Rosalyn Baumgarten-40 (Political Science), Kathy Schultz-35 (History), Cheryl Rolland-30 (Budget & Finance)

Standing:  Bob Kramer-35 (Career Services)



Kathy, Joe & Rose


Chancellor Joe Gow with Kathy Schultz and Rosalyn Baumgarten 






Some other photos from the breakfast. 


            awards again  

HR staff hands out the awards


the crowd            Audience listens     




Many thanks to ALL classified staff members!