

# Joint Planning & Budget Committee Minutes

1:15 p.m., September 11, 2024 1102/1104 Wittich Hall

Recorder: McAndrews

### Attendance

First Name	Last Name	Status	Group	Dept/Program
Pearl	Bearhart	Present	Member	ACS Vice Chair
Chris	Stindt	Present	Member	ACS
Jamie	Schweiger	Present	Member	ACS (2026)
Andrew	Ericson	Present	Member	ACS (2026)
Troy	Richter	Present	Member	ACS (2027)
Lisa	Weston	Present	Member	ACS (2027)
Karl	Kunkel	Present	Member	Admin   Dean   CASSH
Taggert	Brooks	Excused	Member	Admin   Dean   CBA
Ju	Kim	Present	Member	Admin   Dean   CSH
Meredith	Thomsen	Present	Member	Admin   Dean   GEL
Marcie	Wycoff-Horn	Present	Member	Admin   Dean   SOE
Stephanie	Pope	Present	Member	Admin   VC   Admin & Finance
Allison	Ziegelman	Present	Member	Admin   VC   Advancement
Stacy	Narcotta-Welp	Present	Member	Admin   VC   Diversity & Inclusion
Vitaliano	Figueroa	Present	Member	Admin   VC   Student Affairs
Betsy	Morgan	Present	Member	Admin   VC Provost   Academic Affairs
Emily	Roraff	Present	Ex-Officio	Ex-Officio   Budget Director
James	Beeby	Present	Ex-Officio	Ex-Officio   Chancellor
Graciela	Engen	Present	Ex-Officio	Ex-Officio   Inst Research
John	Jax	Present	Ex-Officio	Ex-Officio   Library
Sandy	Grunwald	Present	Ex-Officio	Ex-Officio   Provost   Assoc VC
Anne	Galbraith	Excused	Member	Faculty   CSH   Vice Chair Fac Sen
Tim	McAndrews	Present	Member	Faculty   CASSH
Chia- Chen	Yu	Present	Member	Faculty   CSH
Tushar	Das	Present	Member	Faculty   CSH
Jocelyn	Newton	Present	Member	Faculty   CASSHe
Darci	Thoune	Present	Member	Faculty   CASSHe (Shonk replacement)
Gwen	Achenreiner	Present	Member	Faculty   CBA
Ben	Trnka	Present	Member	Faculty IAS   CBA
Emma	Latus	Present	Member	Student Association
Avery	Ladd-Winders	Present	Member	Student Association
Hooth ar	Talbet	To be elected	Member	Student Association
Heather	Talbot Grattan	Present Present	Member Member	Graduate Student USC
Mary				USC
Sandra	Vinney	Excused	Member	USC



- I. Introductions name, role, and reason/interest for serving
- II. Approval of 05-01-2024 Minutes (attached) (motion, second, pass)
- III. Election of Chair and Recorder
  - a. Chair (any member that served last year)
    - i. Chris Stindt nominated to serve as chair of JPB (m/s/p)
  - b. Recorder
    - i. Committee members will take turns
- IV. Executive Committee Elections
  - a. Membership: JPB Chair, 1 faculty, 1 dean, 1 academic staff, 1 university staff, 1 student
  - b. Faculty rep: Tim McAndrews nominated (m/s/p)
  - c. Dean rep: Ju Kim nominated (m/s/p)
  - d. Academic Staff (NIAS) rep: Pearl Bearhart nominated (m/s/p)
  - e. University Staff rep: Sandra Vinney nominated (m/s/p)
  - f. Student rep: Emma Latus nominated (m/s/p)
- V. Charge and Remarks by Chancellor Beeby
  - a. Special charge: Please work with the pillar leads for the four pillars of the current strategic plan to provide proposed action steps to JPB associated with the goals endorsed in Spring 2024. JPBs role will be to provide feedback on the action steps to be helpful to the process.
    - i. Increasing community engagement Lisa Klein
    - ii. Achieving excellence through equity & diversity Stacy Narcotta-Welp
    - iii. Investing in our people Stephanie Pope and Julia Getchel
    - iv. Advancing transformational education Betsy Morgan and Sandy Grunwald

### VI. Discussion

- a. Meeting pattern
  - i. Every other week starting Wed., Oct. 2
  - ii. Next meeting date, Wed., Oct. 2 Budget 101
- b. JPB Faculty Membership
  - i. We have 8 faculty members and need only 7
  - ii. Awaiting guidance from SEC regarding faculty membership

Adjournment: ~2:10 pm



# Joint Planning & Budget Committee Agenda

1:15 p.m., May 1, 2024 In person, 1102/1104 Wittich Guests may join via Zoom [*Mtg ID* **936 5442 4020**; *Passcode* **706085**]

Recorder: Vinney Alternate Recorder: Stindt

Present: TJ Brooks, Rose Brougham, Mary Grattan, Karl Kunkel, Emma Latus, Pat Markos, Tim McAndrews, Marie Moeller, Betsy Morgan, Jocelyn Newton, Kelly Nowicki, Greg Reichert, Ken Shonk, Michaela Smith, Meredith Thomsen, Chia-Chen Yu, Maren Walz, Marcie Wycoff-Horn, Vitaliano Figueroa

Zoom: Ju Kim, Pearl Bearhart, Bob Hetzel Excused:

Sandra Vinney

Absent: Avery Ladd-Winders, Stacy Narcotta Welp, Swasthkia Selvakumar

# Agenda:

- 1. Approval of meeting minutes: 4/17/2024 Approved by unanimous Voice vote
- 2. Chancellor's update
  - a. Chalking and monitoring situation. Hearing regarding Joe Gow, expecting press.
- 3. Provost's update
  - a. Friday, May 3 is Research and Creativity Symposium
  - b. General Education program revisions were approved in April (first time in 25 years) Effective Fall 2025, next year is logistical changes
    - i. Tim Dale led, but moving to CBA, so searching for new General Education Coordinator
  - c. Proposal for System funding for High Impact Practices (HIPS). Center Faculty to SIMMER training, train the trainer model, so group can put on workshop on campus
  - d. First time issuing digital diplomas for the first time this spring
- 4. CFO's update
  - a. Budget 101 information no set timeline for online distribution
  - Deloitte many met with consultants, challenges and strengths to be shared for feedback, expected final report late June, Chancellor Beeby takes to Board of Regents



- 5. Open search updates
  - a. Today at 2:45 Open forum for Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, Stacy
  - b. CHRO, On campus interviews week of May 13<sup>th</sup>
- New business
  - a. Greg Reichert Foundation Optimized Alignment update
  - Janie Morgan and Greg Reichert shared about the Evolution of the Foundation at UWL
    - i. UWL Endowment is \$36.7 million, 3<sup>rd</sup> in System
    - ii. Interdependent until 2009, Independent until 2015, Interdependent since
    - iii. Reviewed peer and aspirant Foundations, some bumps in the road, Oshkosh and Covid
    - iv. Advancement Services Assessment and Staffing and Capacity Analysis
    - v. Optimizing Alignment Foundation and Alumni Association came together as one board/staff/plan
    - vi. Became the UWL Alumni and Friends Foundation, Future? Leadership changes, internal and external

## 7. Acknowledgements

- a. 2024-25 student leadership
- b. Executive Committee
- c. Outgoing members
- d. Retirements
- e. Vice Chancellor Reichert
- f. Vice Chancellor Hetzel
- 8. Adjournment

#### JPB Executive Committee Members:

Pearl Bearhart, Academic Staff TJ Brooks, Dean Emma Latus, Student Association Kelly Nowicki, Faculty Senate Sandra Vinney, University Staff Maren Walz, Chair